The Gold Dome Award

Each year at the annual Centenary University Scholarship Gala, honorees are chosen to receive the Gold Dome Award. The Award was first presented in 1999 to recognize the contributions of individuals and organizations who, through extraordinary vision and dedication, advance the mission of Centenary University and exemplify the values we hold dear.

2016 honoree:

Dr. Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite ’96 HA

Dr. Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite has been a valued member of the Centenary College community for more than 20 years, serving in a variety of positions.  She began her career at the institution as adjunct assistant professor of Business, from 1985 to 1988.  In 1988, Dr. Lewthwaite was hired as the assistant professor of Business.  In 1994, she was promoted to associate professor of Business.

In 1999, she transferred from the Business Department to the Education Department, where she served as associate professor of Education.  In 2001, she became a tenured faculty member and was promoted to professor of Education.  In 2003, Dr. Lewthwaite became a member of the College’s Executive Staff when she was named vice president for Academic Programs.  She was promoted again in 2006, to vice president for Academic Affairs and chief academic officer, then named acting chief operating officer in 2008.

Dr. Lewthwaite gained a wealth of corporate experience prior to her career at Centenary College.  Previous positions include training specialist at American International Group, Equal Employment Opportunity program manager at Schering-Plough Corporation, manager of personnel at American Reinsurance Company and manager of Management Development and Training at Great Lakes Carbon Corporation.  She was also an independent consultant in the areas of supervisory and management training and development.  She holds a BBA from Pace University, as well as a MBA and Ed.D from Saint John’s University.


Gold Dome Award

Past recipients (Through 2011)

  • Dr. Stephanie M. Bennett-Smith
  • Dennis M. Bone and Verizon
  • The Centenary University President's Circle
  • Chartwells
  • Commerce Bank
  • James Courter and IDT Corporation
  • Lucinda Thomas Embersits '59
  • Engelhard Corporation
  • Senator John Ewing
  • Grinnell Concrete Paving Stones and the Cofrancesco Family
  • Joan Garey Hooper '50
  • The Im Family
  • David A. '10 HA and Carol Burgess Lackland '54/10 HA
  • Senator Robert E. '96 HA and Virginia N. Littell '04 HA
  • Gayle Sickinger Maffeo '61
  • Masterfoods USA
  • Arden Davis Melick '60/01 HA
  • Perona Farms and the Avondoglio Family
  • Dominick V. Romano '01 HA
  • Ronetco Supermarkets, Inc.
  • Jim Salerno
  • Doll Spach Siegel ’59
  • Skylands Community Bank
  • Harris Smith '99 HA
  • Sprint
  • The Star-Ledger
  • Nancy Briwa Veeder'46